Contact Us

Board Address:

All correspondence and requests for information or application forms should be addressed to:

North Carolina Board of Funeral Service
1033 Wade Avenue, Suite 108
Raleigh, North Carolina 27605
Telephone Number (919) 733-9380 or NC toll free 800-862-0636
Fax Number (919) 733-8271

Contacts and Email Addresses:

Contact Title Email
Peter M. Burke, CFSP     Executive Director pmburke@ncbfs.org
Steve Dirksen     General Counsel sdirksen@ncbfs.org
Dara Lyon Warner   Paralegal dlwarner@ncbfs.org
Lyn Cochrane     Executive Assistant lcochrane@ncbfs.org
Beth Anne Prindiville     Administrative Services Coordinator baprindiville@ncbfs.org
Tanya Pearson     Preneed Services Administrator tpearson@ncbfs.org
Sharon Devine     Preneed Program Assistant sdevine@ncbfs.org
Marty Mills     Administrative Assistant mmills@ncbfs.org
Brett Lisenbee     Inspector ( West) blisenbee@ncbfs.org
Susan Mitchell     Inspector (Central) scox@ncbfs.org
Inez Green    Inspector (East) igreen@ncbfs.org

Renewals

All licenses for funeral service, funeral directing and embalming expire on December 31st of each year. Additional thirty (30) days are allowed for completion of the renewal application. Application for renewal, together with the statutory fee, must be received in the Board office by February 1st of the following year to effect licensure renewal. After February 1st, a late fee of $50.00 must be submitted with the renewal application. Licensees whose renewals have not been received by February 1st of each year cannot be guaranteed that their name will be included in the Register for the following year.

Licensing Examinations:

The State Funeral Director's Exam and Pathology Exam are administered by the International Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards, Inc. via computer based testing. Candidates may obtain an application for computer based testing from the Board office and will conduct all other transactions for the computer based exam with the Conference. This allows applicants the convenience of taking the exam more often than was previously offered. The Laws & Rules exam is computer based and available through Castle Worldwide testing centers located across the state when an applicant is qualified. 

Examination Procedure:

Completed applications for licensure as a funeral service, funeral directing or embalming must be received by the established deadline (thirty (30) days prior to the exam date). A completed application consists of the application form submitted by the applicant, certified school transcripts (received directly from the mortuary school), letters of recommendation, the applicable exam fee and any written verification, which must be obtained by the North Carolina Board from another State Board of Examiners.  The last of these items applies to out-of-state applicants only. 

Renewal Notice:

Renewal Notices are mailed to each licensee at the listed address by December 1 of each year. The renewal form and the applicable fee ($100.00 for Funeral Service, $75.00 for Funeral Directors and Embalmers) must be received by December 31 (there is an extension until February 1).